Corona measures Netherlands

Leiden University and the OWL week adhere to the safety measures and rules set out by the Dutch government. In general, all students from countries outside the exceptions posted below need to go into self-quarantine upon arrival in the Netherlands. Per August 19 the duration for quarantine has been reduced from 14 days to 10 days. Please make sure you are well informed about the rules that are in order for your country before signing up for the physical OWL.

Excluded from travel ban/ 10 day Quarantine rule – updated per 20 August 2020:

EU countries

Schengen countries and the United Kingdom

Travel restrictions lifted for certain countries

Which travellers from this group need to self-quarantine on arrival in the Netherlands:
You are strongly advised to self-quarantine if you’re travelling from:
Sweden: Västra Götalands län
Sint Maarten
France: Paris and the department Bouches-du-Rhône
Spain: Madrid, Navarre, the Balearic Islands of Majorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera, the provinces Burgos, Salamanca and Soria (in the region Castile and León), Almería (in the region Andalusia), Barcelona and Lerida (in the autonomous region Catalonia) and the provinces Huesca, Zaragoza and Teruel (in the autonomous region Aragón)
Portugal; Vale do Tejo, this includes Lisbon
Belgium; Antwerp and Brussels-Capital Region
a country outside the EU, the Schengen area and the United Kingdom, except for:  Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

Please note that if you have been on holiday in any of the countries above or in a country that has been colored orange by the Dutch government (check here) you must be in self-quarantine for 10 days upon your return from that country.

This information will be updated regularly as circumstances change regularly. Please inform us if your safe status has changed and you are not yet in the Netherlands.